

City of Milwaukee

200 E. Wells Street Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202

Department Details

Department name: BOARD OF FIRE AND POLICE COMMISSIONERS

Type: Board or Commission

Meeting time:

Meeting location:

Primary contact:

Description:

PURPOSE: Functions as the Police and Fire Department oversight board through policy review, rule-making and inspection. Appoints the chiefs of the both the Police and Fire Departments. Performs personnel functions for the Police and Fire Departments. Oversees entry-level recruitment, entry and promotional examinations, and approves all appointments; administers the citizen complaint process, and is final arbiter on all appealed discipline. Conducts planning and research on public safety issues.

COMPOSITION: Seven citizen members, not more than three of whom may belong to the same political party. The Mayor, subject to Common Council confirmation, appoints commissioners to five year terms. Terms run from the second Monday in July. Under section 314-2-a of the Milwaukee Code of Ordinances, all appointees are subject to a background investigation prior to their confirmations.

A member continues to serve after the completion of his or her term until reappointed or until a successor has been appointed.

Due to the nature of the business conducted by this body, members are required to file a Statement of Economic Interests with the Board of Ethics.

CREATING AUTHORITY: Section 62.50, Wis. Stats., Chapter 314 of the Milwaukee Code of Ordinances

SALARY: \$253.85 biweekly

STAFFING: Board of Fire and Police Commissioners, 286-5000; Michael Tobin, Exec.

Director.

WEBSITE: BOARD OF FIRE AND POLICE COMMISSIONERS

LAST UPDATED: November 8, 2018

| Name | Title | Start Date | End Date | |
|--------------------------------|---------------------------------|------------|-----------|---|
| Angela McKenz Appointed By: | rie Member Mayor Tom Barrett | 7/11/2016 | 7/11/2021 | * |
| Anna Wilson Appointed By: | Member Mayor Tom Barrett | 7/9/2012 | 7/9/2017 | * |

| Fred Crouther Appointed By: | Member Mayor Tom Barrett | 5/14/2015 | 7/14/2019 | * |
|----------------------------------|---------------------------------|-----------|-----------|---|
| Kathryn Hein Appointed By: | Member Mayor Tom Barrett | 7/9/2013 | 7/9/2018 | * |
| Marisabel Cabre Appointed By: | era Member Mayor Tom Barrett | 7/8/2013 | 7/8/2018 | * |
| Nelson Soler Appointed By: | Member Mayor Tom Barrett | 7/11/2016 | 7/11/2021 | * |
| Steven DeVoug Appointed By: | as Member Mayor Tom Barrett | 7/9/2018 | 7/11/2023 | * |

^{*} indicates extended term